Slice

I absolutely love sweets.  Cake, ice cream, cookies.  You name it.  I like it.  And lately, for whatever reason, I have had a hard time resisting them.  They are just so delicious!

So I told myself that I would eat healthy this week.  I made yummy, healthy, big salads for lunch.  I planned dinners and snacks.  I am prepared.

Or I thought I was until…

I walked into the faculty room today.  Immediately my eyes landed on the table.  There sat a multi-layer, chocolate and mint cake.  “Can you be my taste tester,” Meghan, the music teacher, asked as I walked in.  She went on to explain that she was making this cake for her girlfriend in a few weeks and wanted it to be perfect.  So who better than teachers to be her guinea pigs?!  “You need to give me honest feedback though.”

“Of course,” I said.  “But only a little piece and after I eat my salad.”  Meghan listened to my reply, barely, and cut me a slice.

“That’s more than a taste,” I said.  “I’m never going to be able to finish that.  I’m trying to be healthy this week.”

Another coworker walked in at this point and said, “oh come on!  You can handle it.  You go to the gym.”  I continued to eat my salad, the chocolate cake glaring at me.

Eventually, I finished my salad.  Don’t eat the whole slice.  Just taste it and give her feedback I thought to myself.  But before I knew it, my slice was gone.

It was amazing.  “I’m jealous, Meghan, not only can you teach music and understand music but now you show me you can also bake very well too.  What can I do?  Teach reading?!”

Her reply…”you can do pull ups!”

Yes!  Yes I can.  Off to the gym I go!

img_3444-2

6 thoughts on “Slice

  1. Jejej. We have a club for Friday treats, where someone bakes a new treat and brings it in each Friday to share. I love it. This little anecdote is so authentic. I had a salad today and justified eating a donut because I only had a salad for lunch.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love the title – just made me chuckle! Absolutely love that you ATE the cake! One should never pass up a piece of homemade cake – because homemade means it made with love and everyone needs a dose of love in their cake! Great ending – go pull up girl! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment