Joy Reflection

As I look around the room during Joy Write time I see pencils moving rapidly.  I see a few students talking about new ideas and asking each other for advice, others are reading what they are proud of, and 2 students joined together to continue a story together.  This story is one that they started after morning work one day, one that they continued at a playdate, one that has traveled to recess a few times, and one that they are so proud of.  This puts a huge smile on my face. A few kids have come over to see me while I’m writing to share, ask questions or just say “this is so fun.” They were given 3 choices today…choice, word of the day (burst) or nature objects.  Most chose choice but there is a variety going around…jokes, letters to grandparents, lists, true stories, character drawings, etc.

When I get home that night I sat to write my slice (or to add to what I wrote during school today (see above)).  I sat to think of what caught my eye today.  Nothing really jumped out.  Then I thought to myself…I’m so close to the end of March.  Don’t give up now.  So I thought again.  I thought about how quickly my students came up with ideas today during Joy Write time.  How did it come so easily to them?  And then it hits me.  It has gotten easier for me to come up with ideas.  I had noticed many things throughout my day, I was just being stubborn about picking one small thing because I want it to be perfect.  It doesn’t need to be perfect though.  Then I realized there was my slice…my reflection on Joy Writing.

It makes me smile to think that maybe, just maybe, joining this Joy Write group over the summer, challenging myself to write more has helped foster this classes love of writing, and mine too 🙂

 

img_3444-2

9 thoughts on “Joy Reflection

  1. Wait until Dawn sees this: It makes me smile to think that maybe, just maybe, joining this Joy Write group over the summer, challenging myself to write more has helped foster this classes love of writing, and mine too

    This is everything. “What happens when a group of teachers reads Joy Write?” They become writers and better teachers of writing. I’m so proud of you!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. There is no “maybe, just maybe” in your experience. There is only, “definitely, just definitely” joining the Joy Write group and challenging yourself to write has fostered these students’ love of writing. You are in it with them. You understand the process intimately. You get their struggles and their celebrations. You are writers! Wooo Hooo! I’m so glad you posted this reflection of your teaching life.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. What a great slice. Observing kids in action and slicing about it takes an engagement inventory to a new level. Reflecting on those observations and discovering that growing yourself as a writer has influenced the way your kids see themselves as writers makes you not only a writer but a teacher researcher. Being a writer and a teacher researcher are what have kept me going for 26 years. Keep at Elena! I am so happy to be on this “run” with you! YOU are a model and an inspiration! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. So great to hear that ideas are flowing more freely these days… I am definitely feeling that way, too. The Fletcher book continues to impress through reviews, and I know I need to pick it up. I think what’s most important in this slice is how you reflect what you value and your students are feeling that in the classroom. A true, authentic writing teacher writes herself/himself. Way to go!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment