A Good Day

Buzzzzz went my phone at 5:28 this morning.  “Westport will have a 3 hour early dismissal today” read the text message.  Who knew I would ever be so excited to see that message rather than a “no school” message?!?  It was going to be a good day.

2 minutes later… beep, beep, beep sounded my alarm.  It was time to start my day, early.  I even felt refreshed.  Off to the gym I went.  It was going to be a good day.

“I thought that was you,” I heard from behind me.  I turned to see my former assistant principal standing behind me.  She was dressed after her gym workout…I was not so lucky.  “Put your clothes on so I can give you a hug,” she said.  I hurried (but in an awkward way) into my clothes and turned to give her a hug.  We chatted for a little while, she gave me some advice about dealing with a student teacher, and then we both hurried to get to work on time.  It was going to be a good day.

Several hours later, I’m sitting on my couch.  I’m cuddled under the handmade blanket my aunt gave me for Christmas 2 years ago.  The TV is on in the background while my laptop is on my lap.  The snow is slowly falling outside, only sticking to the grass.  I’m sipping a warm cup of green tea, enjoying a shortbread cookie.  It really was a good day.

img_3444-2

 

6 thoughts on “A Good Day

Leave a comment