Backpacks ARE personal items

Dear Avelo Airlines,

I have used this backpack a countless number of times flying to and from Florida. On these flights it has always been considered a personal item… until today.

Today I was pulled to the side of the gate, where my backpack was thrown on the ground to check the size. “It is a centimeter too long,” the gate agent told me.

“Ugh! I’ll take a few things out to make it work,” I replied.

“Wellllllll…. company policy is that you can only take one item out to try to do that,” the gate agent said.

“What?!?! That’s ridiculous!”

“I’m sorry. It’s company policy. Go ahead and step over there to pay $65 to make this backpack a carry on item!”

“This is crazy,” I muttered to myself stepping to the side and rolling my eyes!

Unacceptable Avelo! Unacceptable!

7 thoughts on “Backpacks ARE personal items

  1. Don’t you love how they keep changing the rules? I used to be able to take a little purse and a backpack. Now I can do that only if I can fit the purse in the backpack. (My thinking is in an emergency, men have their wallets on them, and mine is in a purse. I wear it across my front and it would be coming off a plane with me.)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment