Missing Earring

“You’re missing an earring,” Q says to C as soon as she sees her Thursday morning! C seems to ignore the comment.

“Good morning! Is it the new style… 1 earring only?” I ask C, pointing to her left ear, as she enters the classroom on Thursday morning.

“Um… no! I’m not sure where it is,” she replies nonchalantly. This surprises me as it’s a new earring from her birthday. But if C isn’t worried, I’m not either! C carries on her her day.

5 hours later!

“Ms. Wetmore! Ms. Wetmore! My earring is missing,” C shouts as she runs towards me through the classroom, tears on the verge of spilling out.

I stop in my tracks stunned. “Um, we talked about that at 8:45 this morning, C! I’m not sure where it went. You’re welcome to check in the office if you want.”

“Nah! It’s ok,” C says. “Maybe it’s at home!”

“Maybe,” I reply! “Maybe!”

4 thoughts on “Missing Earring

Leave a comment