Stuffies

Today was stuffed animal day at school. Kids were able to bring in a stuffed animal that was no bigger than the size of their backpack. There were avocado stuffies, and care bears, and squishmallows. There were some that fit in your palm and there were some that just about made the backpack burst.

All day came the question “can my stuffie come to ___ (lunch, recess, the carpet, art…)” I tried to say “yes” as many times as I could “as long as it’s not a distraction.” So when Spiderman became a distraction during math I walked over to put it to the side. Boy was I surprised when my hand landed upon a soaking wet stuffie. The boy whose stuffie it was looked up at me looking for a reaction. I tried my best to hide my disgust. I don’t even want to know where/why/how that came to be but I immediately put it off to the side and grabbed a lot of hand sanitizer.

6 thoughts on “Stuffies

Leave a comment