Switching Gears

Social distancing has changed things a bit.  It has made people have to think outside the box.  It has made people have to learn new things (especially dealing with technology).

On Friday (my usual happy hour day) I decided to try something new…a virtual happy hour.  I decided doing it with some of my cousins was the best idea as they would be nice to me on this learning curve.

So at 5:30 we started.  We decided to use FaceTime as everyone had that platform already.  I had no idea you could FaceTime with more than one person at a time.  It took a while as some people tried to connect on computers rather than phones (their arms were getting tired) and others were looking for a quiet space or best service.  But eventually we got it.  At some points there were a bunch of us, at others it was just 3 screens.  It all depended on who had to cook dinner or a boss that called.

During all this my mom tried to call me from Australia.  So instead of answering I called her back and added her to our Happy Hour (too bad she didn’t have warning to have a mimosa in her hand).  She was thrilled to see her smiling, healthy children making the best of this situation.  “It’s the new norm,” we told her.  “Just wait until you get back to the states and you can join with a drink in hand.”

After 2 hours we decided to call it quits.  It was unanimous… we would try again another day, maybe even on a different platform for all of us to learn.  After all, we’ve got the time.

IMG_3395

 

4 thoughts on “Switching Gears

  1. Way to make the best of what life throws at you. I didn’t know until this week that you could face time with a group. I’m going to have to try with my family too! I told my google hangout today that you and I had practiced. Glad we get to learn together. ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Family in whatever form is so beautiful. Thank you for inspiring me to write today. It really is freeing, and God knows we all need our minds to be freed for a while these days. I LOVED LOVED LOVED the images of your phone.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment