Katie Cha

IMG_3947

I stood on the platform waiting for the PATH in Jersey City with my college friends.  As we waited and tried to figure out which PATH we actually needed, Katie decided she was going to show off her new skill…massage.  “I’m teaching myself” she said.  “Jenna, you’re first.  Here take her purse…she shouldn’t be carrying this anyways.  She’s already carrying 1/2 a child” Katie said handing me their 2 purses.

After 15 minutes, the PATH screeched to a halt in New Jersey and no one got off.  The 5 of us were left with no choice but to figure out how to fit on to the already packed train. “I’m not in…  I’m still not on…” I heard Laura say from behind me.  Shuffle.  Shuffle.  Finally I heard, “made it” and the doors closed.

We were barely on the PATH when I heard Katie say “um….excuse me.  You know, you could get up and give my friend your seat you know.”  She was talking to a random man who immediately stood up to give pregnant Jenna his seat.  Jenna thanked the man and said it really wasn’t necessary but took the seat anyways and started talking to his wife.  Katie proceeded to make small talk with the person standing next to her.  Wow…she’s a true city girl,  I thought to myself.

The PATH came to a stop.  Still, no one got off and more people got on.  Time to squish some more.  I shuffled in the car more.  I held on tight and staggered my feet again, not wanting to fall and cause a domino effect.  Or maybe nothing would happen because there was nowhere to go.  Better safe than sorry.  No sooner did I think this when the train starts up again and who falls on to the laps of Jenna and her new friend but… Katie, the true New Yorker.  But in true city girl fashion she pops right back up saying “what?!  I’m slightly drunk, it happens!”

Oh Katie Cha, I love you!  Thanks for always putting a smile on my face.

img_3444-2

4 thoughts on “Katie Cha

  1. What true slice – a moment in time! You captured the joy of just being with friends, you wove in humor here and there, and of course, you got across the oh so joyful struggles of being on a jam packed train! Love this for all thes reasons – dare I say, your writing is growing – I can feel the voice! YAY! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment