One School, One Book

“We are 2 week away from the launch of One School, One Book on March 20th,” came the email. They were looking for volunteers to help. This particular task involved reading and recording a chapter of the book so that kids could listen to it and guess the mystery reader. Of course I said, “yes.”

At our faculty meeting later on that same day we were given some time in our classrooms. “Great,” I thought. “I can record my chapter because it will be quiet. No kids. No loud speaker interruptions. No colleagues coming to look for me. It’s a perfect time.”

I gather the book, preview it quickly and press START. In the past I have had to stop and start again several times within the first minute of recording. Shockingly the recording is going smoothly. I even begin to think “I really hope I pressed the record button.”

And then…

4 1/2 minutes into my 6 minute recording it happens.

“Have a great afternoon everyone,” comes over the loud speaker. I briefly think “ugh… do I start again?” before continuing on. No big deal. It’s life, just a cameo from the principal is great during my chapter… and it gave me a slice for today!

11 thoughts on “One School, One Book

  1. Your slice reminded me of a time I made a video and the school bell rung while I was recording. When I played it days later, like Pavlov’s dogs, kids started to get up to be dismissed!!
    Curoius – what’s the one book?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment