Writer’s Block

There is a girl in my class that keeps saying she is stuck when it comes to writing. Actually there are 2 girls.

Kay uses the term writers block. “Mrs. Wetmore, I’ve got writer’s block. Can I go for a quick walk?” I was impressed by her resourcefulness the first time this happened and said “sure!” One time I even told her I’d speed walk with her to talk about ideas on the way. Now, though I’m beginning to think she is using it as a way to avoid work. A walk or talking to me about her soulmates and boyfriends has been a common occurrence during writing lately. We’ll need to put a stop to that soon (maybe once March is over and I’m not looking for a slice daily though).

May on the other hand sits there. And sits there. I can see her gripping her pencil harder and harder. Or scribbling and scribbling, pencils and crayons breaking left and right. She’s told me before that when someone says “just write anything” that the block gets even worse so I try different tactics. I share with her many slices from my Slice of Life friends and all the possibilities of formats she can try. I share with her how I get writer’s block on occasion and how just writing any words can get me unstuck to write something. We’ve made lists of things she can write about, we’ve made collages of things she loves for inspiration. But sometimes her brain is just stubborn… wanting to write about her BFF but not coming up with anything to say.

Both these girls are not alone with their writer’s block. Writer’s block is part of the writing process after all. I just hope they don’t let the blocks stop them from loving writing.

10 thoughts on “Writer’s Block

  1. I stopped and read this because I felt the same today. We all have students like this. Your patience and support will help them find something to write about. Walking helps me come up with ideas, even if I just list the different things I thought about. I made that into a slice one day.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love how you connect with them – writer to writer. I love how you caught on to the avoid tactic. I mostly love that you believe that these two are writers – that belief in them is priceless. You might try art cards! I’ll send some up the hill if you’d like. Have them pick an art card and write what they see, OR write what it makes them think of OR just list what they see. Just a thought!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment