April 2nd and there’s snow?!

My alarm went off at 5:25.  The plan was to get to the gym after eating tons of Easter chocolate.  But I looked outside and saw snow falling so decided to press snooze.  If there was a delay (I’ll take it) or a cancellation (please, no) it would be by 5:30.  There was no way I was going to be on my way when that phone call came instead of in my bed.

But… no call by 5:45 meant I was in the car on my way.  As I started my drive I felt like I was in the twilight zone.  Dark.  Only headlights lighting my way.  They were illuminating the small, white flakes angled toward my windshield, seemingly going the speed of light.  Is it really April 2nd?  Am I really going to school when there is snow when many times this school year I’ve stayed home for way less?  Did the weatherman finally get a prediction right?

After 45 minutes (usually takes 20) I arrived at the gym.  I usually have to fight for a parking spot, there were plenty.  I must have missed the phone call calling for some sort of change in our schedule.  I frantically looked.  Nope!  Maybe an email?  Nope!

I quickly hopped onto the treadmill and sprinted, continuing to still think… you must have missed something.  I was determined to make my workout just as good as usual but with a lot less time though… so I kept going.  My phone started lighting up with text messages… “can you believe it”, “did she oversleep”, “do you have school?” Was the next one going to be from the school district?  

Sweaty and gross I made it into the locker room and showered.  Checked my phone again…nothing!

For once, the weatherman got it right!  It snowed when they said it was going to.  It still feels like I’m in the twilight zone.

img_3444-2

8 thoughts on “April 2nd and there’s snow?!

  1. The craziness of yesterday is the subject of many slices today. Lucky you only taking 45 minutes. It took me 1.5 hours! I liked your description. I could see the flakes coming toward you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “For once, the weatherman got it right! It snowed when they said it was going to. It still feels like I’m in the twilight zone.” Your ending wraps this slice up perfectly! The reference to the twilight zone fits perfectly. I was in the same place as you yesterday morning. That rushing in the morning made for a tired, Monday, at least for me! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment