A Soft Opening

The beginning of a school day has always been hectic for me.  There is lunch to sign up for, notes to be handed in, attendance to be taken, and so on.  But today, a day after a snow day my classroom is calm.

Over the summer, maybe even at that first Joy Write meeting, a suggestion of having a soft opening was made.  This meant that students would have choice in what they did for morning work.  Would they choose to read, write, play a math game, catch up on work or just relax and chat?

I decided to give this idea a try this year, most days at least.  Some days the class has a quick worksheet and then get to choose.  Other days they choose the whole time.  It gives me time to meet with students that I need to check in with.  It gives me time to greet everyone as only a few, if any, come up to me with questions.  It gives me a chance to breath and start the day calm as well.  Today I had 2 kids reading, 7 kids practicing math, 5 kids writing, and the rest of them are relaxing and talking to each other.

Each time we have these soft openings it amazes me how calm the class is as a whole.  Even with all the students that choose to relax and chat it is still calmer than on a day where there is “dictated” morning work.  How can something as simple as choosing what you want to work on have such a peaceful start to the day?  Why don’t I do this everyday?  Is it just my class or would this be the same in every room?  I knew from the start though, it was going to be a good day 🙂

 

img_3444-1

7 thoughts on “A Soft Opening

  1. I felt calmer just reading your post. I would love a soft opening in the library each day, but since we do a live broadcast Monday through Thursday, Friday seems to be the only day it happens…and then, only on the days we don’t have assembly. Maybe one of these days I’ll be able to incorporate soft mornings!

    Like

  2. What a sweet slice and an ode to choice. My mentor, a strong believer in choice, always said, with choice comes responsibility – maybe having made the choice, deciding for themselves, makes them feel more ownership. I can just imagine your room with this slice – I want to be there! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a comment