Snow Day Challenge

School was buzzing throughout the day.  Would there be school on Wednesday?  Would it be an early dismissal?  Were the weathermen actually going to be right this time?  As I listened to this banter I poked around on Instagram and came across a teacher who had given her students a Snow Day Challenge.  “Ooooh, that could be fun” I thought to myself.  So at the end of the school day I told my 2nd graders to watch their email if we had no school the following day.

On Tuesday around 5:15pm my phone rang.  It was from the Superintendent’s office canceling school for Wednesday.  Off went the email to parents with the challenge: create something out of a box (any type of box) and send me a picture.

Wednesday was a typical snow day.  I slept late, enjoy many cups of tea, blogged, made soup and read.  I checked my email a bunch too but no one sent a picture of their Snow Day Challenge.  I was bummed.  What did my students do all day?  Why had no one emailed a picture?

Finally, at 10pm (after hearing that we were having snow day day 2 on Thursday) a space shuttle arrived in my inbox.  It was a great space shuttle too…ready for a trip to the moon.  At noon the next day, a colorful dog house arrived.  Followed by a sign and a hockey/mini golf game.

These pictures put a huge smile on my face.  I cannot wait to be back at school to hear how they came up with their ideas.  Who knows, maybe there will be more creative boxes coming my way too?!

img_3444-1

6 thoughts on “Snow Day Challenge

  1. What a brilliant idea! To present a snow day challenge to your kids – whom you care so much about! I want to be a kid in your class! I think you could have this as a writing invitation! What did you think/do when you got the snow day challenge! OR they could write a POEM about their creation! Love this slice!!

    Like

  2. What a fabulous idea! I love it! It looks like many of your students really rose to the challenge. I bet their parents were thankful for the challenge, too. We don’t have snow days here, but it might be fun to try something like this for Spring Break. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  3. What a cool idea! I’ve never had a snow day, having lived in mostly warm climates my whole life, but this is a really great way to get those creative juices flowing!

    Like

Leave a comment